Wolf Tooth Components Goatlink Review

Goatlink Installed

I have ridden the Wolf Tooth 42 tooth cog for over 2 1/2 years, but I didn’t buy the GoatLink until about a month ago. I was pretty happy with the shifting on my 1X10 setup but I was on the Wolf Tooth site for another reason and had $20 burning a hole in my pocket so I figured I would try the goatlink and report back.

Installation was as easy as they said – actually even easier. They said to allow 30 minutes but if you’re a reasonable mechanic it will only take 15 minutes to install the link and adjust the B-tension screw.

On the bike stand I didn’t notice any difference in the shifting performance but out on the trail the improvement was noticeable. Very little discernible difference on the small cogs but on the large cogs I really noticed a change. Particularly shifting to and from the 3 large cogs was smoother. Shifts were quicker and with fewer skips. The Wolf Tooth and Lindarets sites also say the linkage results in less wear but I can’t comment on that at this point.

With the proliferation of SRAM 1X11 drivetrains at lower price points I imagine that the number of people converting to 1X10 has dropped a lot compared to the early days since you can now buy a complete 1X11 drivetrain at only a little bit more than the cost of converting a 1X10. But if you already have the 1X10 conversion you might consider buying the goatlink. It isn’t absolutely necessary to make the 42 tooth cog work but with it you’ll go from good shifting performance back to what feels like standard Shimano performance so I would say it’s worth the 20 bucks.

One thought on “Wolf Tooth Components Goatlink Review

  1. Thanks @annoyedcyclist! You’ve hit the nail on the head- the GoatLink is an inexpensive way to bring performance back to stock while improving chain life. I’m glad that you’re digging it!

    Marc

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

