Ibis 928 Wheelset Follow-up Review 

Ibis 928 logo and stem

Just a quick update on my Ibis 928 wheelset since the review I posted back in January.

Basically the wheels are as good as I described them back then. Stiff and light and they definitely liven up my hardtail.

I’ve had about 250 miles of trail and road use on them (about 75% on trails) and they are as true and smooth rolling as the day I first put them on. My buddy I bought them from figures he had about 250 miles on them before me so they only have 500 miles so far and I wouldn’t expect to see any issues at this point anyway. My tubeless setup has worked fine – I have to air them up about every week but I’m an electronic-tire-pressure-gauge, get-it-within-1-psi-reading kind of tire geek. I typically run 23 psi front and 24 psi rear (I’m 170 lbs) and I find I’ll lose a couple of psi per week which is similar to my previous setup on Stan’s rims. The hubs are still smooth and aren’t showing any play.

The only issue is a relatively minor one. The presta stems leak very slightly with the valve open. It seals fine after I screw in the valve. I don’t notice this on the stems that are on my Shimano and Stan’s wheels so it’s a bit annoying but just a niggle really. I’ll replace the valve cores at some point to see if that fixes it. And props to Ibis for supplying valve stems with removable cores – it costs them a bit more but it allows you to add sealant through the stem rather than popping a few inches of the bead of the tire from the rim to pour sealant in.

So in summary, it’s been a good upgrade. I have recently seen that some sites are selling the 928 wheelsets for $999 which is really a bargain in the world of carbon wheels. The timing of this discount suggests Ibis is getting ready to release a new rim and the shops are clearing out inventory but that’s just a guess on my part.

If you have $1000 burning a whole in your pocket this is probably the best upgrade you can make for that kind of money.

Leave a Reply

