How much is my life worth?

As a cyclist, one of the most frustrating aspects of riding on the road is car drivers who literally save a few seconds and almost right hook me or pull out in front of me from a driveway rather than giving me a bit more time and space. The desire to get past the bike is so strong that they don’t think far enough ahead to realize that I will probably catch them at the next light anyway. In city traffic that frequently happens and I coast up next to the offending driver shaking my head and knowing that he/she will likely do it again given the chance.

So it got me thinking – given the danger to me and the possibility I could get killed by a driver looking to save a few seconds – how much is a bonehead maneuver worth? Being an engineer, I can only think with a spreadsheet or similar tool so I came up with this one. I assumed the median salary for Santa Clara County at $93,500 and that the driver saved 5 seconds.

chart3

 

 

 

Now, I know some of you will say that in many cases the driver saved 3 seconds or maybe no time at all but in the interest of science I’ll stick with my conservative number of 6 cents. Yes – that’s right that driver’s time is worth just 6 cents. Oh, I know, a number of you are high earners making $500,000 a  year. In that case the 5 seconds you saved is worth

chart2

 

 

 

I think you get the idea – the math is pretty easy. So when the high earner hits me that bumps my value up to 33 cents. I don’t know – I still think I’m worth more, but you can’t fight Economics.

Maybe that explains why the penalties for hitting a person with a car are, in fact, so small.

 

Leave a Reply

